Jyuuguchi’s next games and etc.

Jyuu-tan is not dead (yet)! :p

I’ve been really busy with work so I really haven’t had the luxury to sit there with my Vita in hand to play otome games. I will be playing a few in the next few months though, such as Collar x malice, Haitaka and maybe Tierblade. To be honest though, my money is all spent on power vitamins and beverages to get me through the work week. XD

As many of you know, I’m also working on Kokorogawari, an original English otome game with a few others. I just want to post a little something regarding my motivations for the game, how we designed it and what you can expect from it.

First, Kokorogawari is NOT a fangame. 

When I decided that I wanted to create a game, the idea of having many hot guys go after a girl was absolutely NOT my intention. Sure, the guys are hot (I mean, which 2D guy isn’t) and there will definitely be a few scenes that make you go ‘aww~’ but the main point of the game is not on the men and how handsome/strong/smart they are.

Some might be surprised, but the main focus of Kokorogawari is the women. More specifically, how the heroine overcomes certain pasts in her life, how the women in the story influence the men and of course, how the heroine models herself after the older women in her life.

I want people to enjoy a story that celebrates romance as something like a partnership where two people influence each other. Not how mediocre or ditzy the heroine is and the guy finds that cute and thus falls in love with her. How dysfunctional is that?

Also, I don’t want the characters to speak superficial praise. That has been done to death in children’s shows and otome games that exist solely for the sake of boosting the player’s ego. Let’s have some adults who contemplate their future, overcome their pasts and strive in the present, come on!

Second, the characters have flaws (what?!). 

They’re insecure, immature, insensitive, too judgemental, hasty… Kokorogawari is a human drama story, so I intend to expose such qualities of people. Humans are humans only when they have flaws and it is these flaws that are central in Kokorogawari.

You can check out the characters and other things about Kokorogawari at precatio.wordpress.com

Third, system-friendly, non-Japanese speaking friendly.

With the advice of my team, we decided to keep certain Japanese words because it is honestly not authentic when you try to translate ‘Takoyaki’ or try to take away name suffixes such as ‘Koga-kun’ and ‘Takahara-san’. I want the game to be very authentic even if it’s a story written in English story and about the Japanese cultur, so we actually have a dictionary system for people who want to look up words that they are unsure of. The brilliant programmers in the team will see to it that it works beautifully.

Last, art, CGs and BGMs? Be sure that they’re top-notch.

It’s a paid game and you can be very very sure that you’re paying a very small price for all the hard work put in by every member of the team. If you’ve already checked out our wordpress or you follow our Twitter @precatio_vn, you know that we’ve hired a top artist for the game! Our BGM composer is also extremely talented and has created many fun tunes.

So don’t hesitate to preorder the game by supporting us! https://precatio.itch.io/kokorogawari

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Jyuuguchi’s next games and etc.

  1. “I want people to enjoy a story that celebrates romance as something like a partnership where two people influence each other. Not how mediocre or ditzy the heroine is and the guy finds that cute and thus falls in love with her. How dysfunctional is that?”

    I was hooked when you announced the game and now I’m in love. Thank you!!!! It’s so annoying to hear how much hate shoujo protagonists get bc the reader can’t be her, likewise for otoge. Women are strong and they don’t have only the desire to snag a man. Romance is only a small part of our lives. And not everyone even wants that.

    I look forward to this game. Do you know when it will be released because I’d love to review it^^

    Good luck girl!!! *hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

